Barony of Adiantum Shire of Briaroak Shire of Coeur du Val Shire of Corvaria Shire of Glyn Dwfn Shire of Myrtle Holt Shire of Southmarch Barony of Terra Pomaria Shire of Tymberhavene

The History of the Summits

Question of the Reign

Question: Why did The Summits choose a grail and a mountain for their device?
Answer: The mountain and grail symbolize Crater Lake and Mount Mazama. Crater Lake is a beautiful lake in the caldera of the mountain. The whole area is a National Park. So as it says in our ceremonies: "The mountain holds the grail up to the sky."

The Lords & Ladies of the Summits
(A History of the Summits before it was made a Principality)
If you are looking for a history of Princes and Princesses, please click here

William Thorinson & Sarah O'Guinn
December AS XXX (1995) to March AS XXX (1996).
These were the last Defender and Lady of the Summits. The first Summits Coronet Tournament was held in March AS XXX (1996) and yielded the first native Prince and Princess of the Summits, Lawrence de Xaintrailles and Mirriam de Xaintrialles.

Duke James Greyhelm & Duchess Verena of Laurelin
June AS XXX (1995) to December AS XXX (1995).

William of Kent & Mary Brullasdottir
December AS XXIX (1994) to June AS XXX (1995).

Sir William Brannon & Magdalene Brannon
June AS XXIX (1994) to December AS XXIX (1994).

William of Kent & Mary Brullasdottir
March AS XXVII (1993) to September AS XXVIII (1993).

Lawrence de Xaintrailles & Mirriam de Xaintrialles
September AS XXVII (1992) to March AS XXVII (1993).

Master Timothy McDaniell & Barbara Bayard du Montchesne
March AS XXVI (1992) to September AS XXVII (1992).

Heimidal Foehammer & Shira Kataka
September AS XXVI (1991) to January AS XXVI (1992) when the Defender and Lady abdicated. The Summits was without a Defender and Lady until March, AS XXVI (1992) at which point the Defender's term was changed to six months instead of one year as it had been formerly.

Ambrose Mavrorothakis & Marian Staarveld
September AS XXV (1990) to September AS XXVI (1991).

Dublin O'Guinn & Kate O'Guinn
September AS XXIV (1989) to September AS XXV (1990).

Korwyn Ariannaid & Margaret Swynford of Bristow
September AS XXIII (1988) to September AS XXIV (1989).


This is the officially recognized website for the Principality of the Summits of the Society for Creative Anachronism, Inc. and is maintained by . This site may contain electronic versions of the group's governing documents. Any discrepancies between the electronic version of any information on this site and the printed version that is available from the originating office will be decided in favor of the printed version.

Copyright © 2006-2018. Principality of the Summits. The original contributors retain the copyright of certain portions of this site. For information on using photographs, articles, or artwork from this website, please contact the Web Minister at . They will assist you in contacting the original creator of the piece. Please respect the legal rights of our contributors.